Check out all my latest blog posts below

From Theatre to Disney, History and Health there is something for everyone!

It’s time to start believing!

Bedknobs and Broomsticks Theatre Review.

Photo from outside The Marlowe Theatre in Canterbury. Taken by myself.

Bedknobs and Broomsticks came to Canterbury on Wednesday 25th–29th of August and I was lucky enough to see it on opening night. Over the past week, I have tried multiple times to write a review, but I have struggled with putting the words on the page.

I have grown up with the film and was sceptical about this becoming a theatre production. With past performances I have seen with Disney on Westend and Broadway, I knew the soundtrack, set and costume design would be the highest quality. However, for the show itself I had my version in my head and I have favourite scenes from the movie, which made me curious how they would adapt. For me, this musical was everything it needed to be and more, with my expectations being satisfied to the highest levels.

The theatre production of a Disney classic has made its way to the stage this summer for a world premiere. The tour started in Newcastle and will end in Belfast next year, not before visiting different ends of the UK and Ireland. (To see the full list, check out the website Bedknobs and Broomsticks the Musical UK Tour 2021/22 | Disney UK | Disney Tickets UK)

During World War two, three children, Charlie, Carrie and Paul Rawlins, become orphans after losing both their parents during a blitz attack in London. As part of the evacuation efforts, it sent them reluctantly to Pepperinge Eye, a fictional village in Dorset to protect them from harm with a smooth transition. Along with the children, the post from London arrives at the same time which Miss Eglantine Price is more excited for as she had forgotten she agreed to take in children from London. Once the children try to make their big escape away from Miss Price, the Rawlins siblings discover her secret. After some blackmail, the children discover the reasoning behind Miss Price wanting to become an apprentice witch and to pursue her mystic power. A way for her to help the old home guard secure an allied victory after her bereavement in the war. With the last spell ‘Substitutiary Locomtion’ in her reach, Miss Price is heartbroken to find out that the college in London has closed, as her last lesson would allow her to help protect the lives of many. With this in mind, she and the children travel to London to find the professor of the college, Emelius Browne. Unfortunately, the professor is not what he seems, but he joins the group where they go bobbing along around London, then making their way to the Isle of Nopeeop before going home to Dorset. Based on Mary Norton’s books, the theatre show differs slightly from the book and movie but some elements are the same such as the way the bedframe and knob change colour. This show still gets anyone of any age to believe. Cast and crew

Unofficial Picture of the cast. Photo credit Omar F Okai

With most theatre shows I go to watch, I like to see who will be in the performance and I enjoy reading to see how they are getting along with rehearsals. The main characters and the ensemble were phenomenal in their performances. Giving credit where it’s due, the main cast all perfectly fitted into their roles and the actors who played Paul and Carrie were brilliant, especially for their age. The constant movement from the ensemble when they changed sets or helped with the magic made the performance. The design of the puppets was beautiful, it was amazing to watch the puppeteer on stage, my favourite being the King. Everyone on this show works incredibly hard and you could tell they were glad to be back doing what they loved.

I was aware of some of the soundtrack for this musical but it had a lot of new music by Neil Bartram, and these songs fitted in perfectly into the storyline. The show included the original songs by the legendary Sherman Brothers who worked on Mary Poppins, The Jungle Book and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (another favourite theatre show of mine). The ultimate Disney classics songs Portobello Road, The Age of Not Believing and The Beautiful Briny were all included among the soundtrack too. My favourite song from the soundtrack that is new to the performance is ‘Negotiality’ which is sung by Charlie Rawlins’ (performed by Conor O’Hara). This song is extremely catchy with me having had it in my head all week.

The creative team behind Bedknobs and Broomsticks must get the most credit. Without spoiling the show too much (in case you have not read or watched the movie) there are a few challenging scenes that include the main character Eglantine Price, flying plus a bed. How the creative team achieved this was truly magical and even though I was observing, I could not make it out myself. This is something I did while watching Aladdin too, and I still cannot figure it out. The bed does not get a dramatic up air performance like the flying carpet, however; it works well considering this production is on tour. Hopefully, it can make its way to the Westend where the company can adapt. Throughout the multiple location changes, attention to detail was of the highest level. You felt like they had transported you. Along with the sound and visual effects, as an audience member, I felt I was part of the show. With each scene, I was experiencing the journey each character was going through.

Bedknobs and Broomsticks is now in my top five theatre shows I have seen; it was truly that perfect. Canterbury was second on the list and I was glad, as I did not want to wait that long. There were some mixed reviews from people I had spoken to, but I believe that is because the movie holds a special place in many people’s hearts. I am so glad that the Marlowe Theatre could hold this production. This show reminds me of my childhood and I have many fond memories with my family, having watched the movie a lot over the years. We still watch the film on bank holidays so going to watch it at the Marlowe Theatre on the last bank holiday of the year was the perfect.

I would like to say a special thank you to Disney and all the people involved in making this production. It is a theatre show that everyone needs to watch. Who knew enchanted bedknobs, bewitched broomsticks and a flying bed could bring you just over two hours of enjoyment?

The Walt Disney company has expanded perfectly with Bedknobs and Broomsticks. They have outdone themselves. I am glad they have added this to their own going theatre shows. Other shows by Disney include newly realised Frozen, Aladdin, The Lion King, and Mary Poppins.

It’s time to start believing!

Emmiesummer x

Photo taken by myself.

Leave a comment