Check out all my latest blog posts below

From Theatre to Disney, History and Health there is something for everyone!

Dreamgirls Theatre Review

Photo taken from official tour website

And I am telling you, this show is something you are not wanting to miss. Straight from an outstanding run in the West End, Dreamgirls has landed in Canterbury for the start of its country-wide tour. Dreamgirls tells the story of three young girls Effie, Lorrell and Deena as they embark on a musical rollercoaster ride through a world of fame, fortune and the ruthless realities of show business, testing their friendships to the very limit. This show features your favourite songs which include one night only, I am changing and I am telling you. There is a story behind every dream and join the girls as they share the ups and downs of show business.

Cast and Crew

All the cast and crew are excellent in this performance. For me, Sharlene Hector’s portrayal of Effie was exceptional. Her vocals were amazing and when she sang And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going deservedly received a standing ovation. Her attitude, sassiness and comedic timing helped bring the character altogether. Other cast members who deserve a mention are the other of the dream team Natalie Kassanga and Paige Peddie. The costumes which are created by Tim Hatley are beautiful and they all work for each scene and the era. The set of this show is very simple but it works for the production.

Final Thoughts

Before viewing this show I was aware of a few songs but I went in knowing nothing about the story. The amazing music helps take the audience on a journey and the purely talented cast gives this show the justice it deserves. My only issue is at some points the music was too loud so I was unable to hear the lyrics or dialogue.

Dreamgirls is playing at the Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury until Saturday 23rd July 2022. For tickets and information click here. For information about future touring venues click here.

Emmiesummer x

Leave a comment